Call Now

Dr. Bhim Rao Ambedkar University

Updated on: Oct 5, 2015

Established as Agra University on 1 July, 1927, the University was renamed as Dr. B. R. Ambedkar University (DBRAU) in 1996. It provides educational facilities to the following 7 districts of the Agra division: Agra, Aligarh, Mainpuri, Hathras, Firozabad, Etah and Mathura.

DBRAU has a 4 storied central library on its Paliwal campus with a collection of more than 1.5 lakh books. The university also has separate hostels for boys and girls.

This was the 14th university to be established in India and it is interesting to know that 13 new universities have been born from DBRAU! There are more than 800 colleges affiliated to this university as of 2015-2016 session, some of the well-known colleges being: Agra College, RBS College, St. John’s College, Sarojini Naidu Medical College.

Apart from the colleges affiliated to it, DBRAU also has the following 18 institutes present on its 4 residential campuses i.e. Paliwal Park, Khandari campus, Civil Lines campus and Chhaleshar (Chhalesar) campus:

Institutes & departments

  1. Kanhaiya Lal Munshi (K.M.) Institute of Hindi Studies & Linguistics (Established in 1953, Paliwal Park)

  • Department of Indian Languages (Hindi etc.)
  • Department of Linguistics
  • Department of Foreign Languages
  • Department of Oriental Classical Languages (Sanskrit etc.)
  • Department of Mass Communication and Journalism
  1. Institute of Social Science (Established in 1953, Paliwal Park)

  • Department of Sociology
  • Department of Social Work
  • Department of Statistics
  1. Institute of Home Science (Established in 1958, Khandari campus)

  • Department of Food and Nutrition (Home Management)
  • Department of Family Resource Management
  • Department of Clothing and Textile
  • Department of Home Science Extension Education
  1. Institute of Basic Science (Established in 1984, Khandari campus)

  • Department of Physics
  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Forensic Science
  • Department of Mathematics
  1. Dau Dayal Institute of Vocational Education (Established in 1994, Khandari)

  • Department of Instrumentation
  • Department of Optical Instrumentation
  • Department of Advertising, Sales Promotion and Sales Management
  • Department of Computer Applications
  1. School of Life Sciences (Established in 1997, Khandari)

  • Department of Zoology
  • Department of Botany
  • Department of Biotechnology
  • Department of Biochemistry
  • Department of Microbiology
  • Department of Environmental Studies
  • Department of Environmental Toxicology
  • Department of Forestry
  1. Institute of Engineering and Technology (Established in 1998, Khandari)

  2. Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Institute of Rural Development (Established in 1998, Paliwal Park)

  3. Lalit Kala Sansthan (Institute of Fine Arts (Established in 2000, Civil Lines)

  4. Institute of Computer and Information Science (Established in 2004)

  5. Institute of Tourism and Hotel Management (Established in 2004)

  6. University Computer Centre (Established in 1994, Khandari)

  7. Department of Library and Information Science (Established in 1984, Chhalesar)

  8. Department of History (Established in 1985, Paliwal Park)

  9. Department of Adult and Continuing Education & Extension (Established in 1989, Paliwal Park)

  10. Department of Physical Education (Established in 1989, Chhalesar campus)

  11. Department of Contemporary Social Studies & Law : Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Chair (Established in 1993, Paliwal Park)

  12. Seth Padam Chand Jain Institute of Commerce, Business Management & Economics (Established in 1993, Khandari)


  • M.Phil in Hindi, Sanskrit, Linguistics, Sociology, Statistics, Physics, Mathematics, Zoology, Botany, History
  • M.A in Hindi, Sanskrit, Linguistics, Sociology, History
  • M.Sc in Mathematics, Biotechnology, Biochemistry, Botany, Environmental Studies, Environmental Toxicology, Forestry, Zoology, Microbiology
  • Master of Library and Information Science (M.Lib.I.Sc.), 3 YR part-time MBA, M.Com, Masters of Fine Arts (Painting), Masters of Fine Arts (Applied Art)
  • B. Sc. (Vocational), B.Com. (Vocational), Bachelor of Fine Arts BFA (Painting), Bachelor of Fine Arts (Applied Art), Bachelor of Fine Arts (Sculpture), B.A. (Vocational), Bachelor in Physical Education (B.P.Ed.), Bachelor of Library and Information Science (B.Lib.I.Sc.)
  • Post Graduate Diploma in Hotel & Tourism Management, Post Graduate Diploma in Computer Application (PGDCA)


If you have appeared for the exams conducted by the Dr. B. R. Ambedkar University , you can check your exam results at the website The exact link for your result is:

Contact details

Dr. B. R. Ambedkar University (formerly Agra University)
Paliwal Park, Agra, Uttar Pradesh 282004

Subscribe to our newsletter