Call Now
1800 102 5277

Lucknow University

Updated on: Oct 24, 2015

university_of_lucknowThe state (public) University at Lucknow was born from the University of Allahabad in 1921 with these 3 main colleges at its core - King George's Medical College (now King George's Medical University), Canning College and Isabella Thoburn College. Currently, it has more than 150 colleges affiliated to it.

The university's central library (Tagore LibraRY) is one of the richest in the country (5.25 lakh books, 50,000 journals and approximately 10,000 copies of approved Ph.D. and D.Litt. dissertations). It also has 13 hostels for boys and girls, organizes National Service Scheme (NSS) programmes to create a sense of social service among its students and also provides military training to the students through its NCC wing.


  • Faculty Of Arts

    This faculty has departments in the following subjects: Sanskrit and Prakrit Languages, Hindi and Modern Indian Languages, Persian, Urdu, Arabic, English and Modern European Languages,  Philosophy, Psychology, Economics, Political Science, Anthropology, Ancient Indian History and Archaeology, Medieval and Modern History, Western History, Sociology, Social Work, Public Administration, Linguistics, Library Science, Physical Education, Home Science, Journalism, Oriental Studies in Sanskrit           
  • Faculty Of Commerce

    This faculty has departments in the following subjects: Commerce, Applied Economics, Business Administration
  • Faculty Of Education

  • Faculty Of Fine Arts

    This faculty has departments in the following subjects: Fine Art, Commercial Art, Sculpture
  • Faculty Of Law

  • Faculty Of Science

    This faculty has departments in the following subjects: Physics, Chemistry, Botany, Zoology, Geology, Mathematics and Astronomy, Statistics, Bio-Chemistry, Computer Science, Molecular Biology and Biotechnology, Environmental Sciences
  • Faculty Of Ayurveda

    This faculty has departments in the following subjects: Sanhita Sahit Sanskrit, Maulik Siddhant evam Itihas, Rachana Sharir, Kriya Sharir, Dravyagun, Ras Shastra, Rog Vigyan, Swastha Vrit evam Yog, Agad Tantra, Kaumar Bhritya, Prasuti Tantra evam Stri Rog, Kaya Chikitsa, Shalya Tantra, Shalakya Tantra

Institutes/ Centres

Institute of Management Science (LU-IMS)

Courses: MBA in Corporate Management/ Finance Control/ Human Resource & Industrial Relation Management/ International Business/ Management Sciences/ Marketing/ Retail / Rural Development)

Institute of Tourism Studies (I.T.S.)

Courses: MBA- Tourism, BBA- Tourism, Post Graduate Diploma in Travel Management (PGDTM), Diploma in International Airlines Ticketing & CRS, Travel and Tourism Management (TTM)

Institute of Development Studies

Courses: Master of Arts in Development Studies, Master in Population and Environment

Institute of Mass Communication in Science & Technology

Courses: M.Sc. in Mass Communication in Science & Technology

Institute of Women Studies


  • BCA, MCA
  • MBA
  • M.Ed
  • M.Phil
  • Ph.D


If you have appeared for the exams conducted by the Lucknow University, you can check your exam results at the website www.ExamResults.net. The exact link for your result is: http://results.upeducation.net/lucknow-university/

Contact details

University of Lucknow
University Road, Hasanganj, Lucknow,
Uttar Pradesh, Pin: 226007
Website: www.lkouniv.ac.in

Subscribe to our newsletter